Clam Chowda’

The Chowder House Cafe

The Chowder House Café
2028 Chestnut Blvd (near State Rd)
Cuyahoga Falls, OH 44223
330-794-7102
www.chowderhousecafe.com

Like many Akronites, I love local eats, but I’m far from being a professional critic or even a seasoned foodie. So you can imagine that I was a little surprised and (at first) somewhat apprehensive when I was invited with a group of other regional bloggers to share a nine course meal at the Chowder House Café. I was flattered and excited, but Interesting Akron isn’t about food quite as much as it is about local flavor, which is exactly what this post is going to concentrate on. So, as a quick disclosure, our meal was free, but I chose to write about it not out of obligation, but because I do find it to be one of the more unique and under appreciated restaurants in the area.

Chef Louis Prpich has been an mainstay in the Akron restaurant business for over twenty years. He has a storied past, serving as chef for The Grotto in Merriman Valley (which is now Bricco Pub), The Office Bistro, and at Greystone Hall. What makes the Chowder House distinctive is not only its diverse menu and fresh food, but that so many of the ingredients are grown here in Akron. Chef Prpich picks tomatoes from his own garden behind the restaurant and preserves them so they can be served all year round. He also purchases fruits and vegetables from local farms, including corn from Szlays which was used in the creamed corn that served as a bed for our crab cakes.

The menu is perpetually changing, in fact, the entrees are different almost everyday. To find out what Chef Perpich’s has mind each week you can subscribe to a their email list. Out of the nine courses we tried the one that surprised me the most was a cassoulet, which I new to my palate. From what I’m told the Chowder House is the only place in the Akron area that serves this rich and tasty dish.

If you want to read more about the food and see photos of our meal I highly recommend checking out the blogs from my new food friends:

Carano’s Cucina
Fun Playing with Food
The Chubby Cook
Exploring Food My Way
Eating Around Town

Leave a Reply

