Fish-Shaped Ice Cream Sandwiches


Hana Asian Market
1390 N. Portage Path
Akron, OH 44313
330-836-2700

Mon-Sat 10 a.m.-8 p.m.
Sun 1 p.m.-6 p.m.

The Hana Asian Market, located in Merriman Valley, has what you might expect to find at a specialty food shop: tea, soup, noodles, etc. Dig just a little deeper and you’ll find some really fun imported food and merchandise.

My favorite items are in the frozen food section. Check out the fish-shaped red bean ice cream sandwich pictured above. They come individually wrapped in cute little packages. Search around the fridge a little more and you’ll find green tea ice cream, frozen squid, and snails.

The aisles of dry goods won’t disappoint either. Barbeque-style Cheeto-eque puffs, a wide variety of candy with cute glassy-eyed bears on the wrappers, and Kewpie mayo are just the beginning. The one item that stood out to me the most was a can of silkworm pupa in “sauce.” It didn’t look as bad as I would have imagined.

The Hanna also has food to go, including sushi and sashimi,  as well as free tea. There’s a lot to see here, so reserve a little extra browsing time. Let me know what catches your eye.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Fish-Shaped Ice Cream Sandwiches”

  1. Naomi Says:

    I loved their free tea, it was really good. I bought several things when I went there, my favorite was the ginger salad dressing, it was fantastic.

  2. Tom Says:

    I also love this market. I’ve bought several kinds of tea there with which I’ve fallen in love, ginger and chrysanthemum. They definitely have a nice selection and variety of Asian products.

Leave a Reply

