Warning, may contain real fleas . . .

Unfortunately this location has closed, but I’m keeping the post up to let Akronites know what they missed out on.

North Akron Flea Market
214 E. Cuyahoga Falls Ave.
Akron, OH 44310

North Hill has some of my favorite odds ‘n ends spots, many of which appear on a small stretch of Cuyahoga Falls Ave. The Akron area has several small flea markets that I’m sure I’ll get around to posting, but I would like to highlight this one first.

The North Akron Flea Market has several dealers in one location, but it’s open every day, unlike many other flea markets, which are weekend-only. You’ll find the usual junk, such as broken baby dolls, Pentium 1 computers covered with cat fur (I hope) and Metallica stickers, and tons of janky furniture. Don’t miss the display of bongs and pipes, including one that is a full gas mask with a glass chamber near the mouthpiece.

Among the piles are a few gems. Someone is trying to get rid of an entire Star Trek toy set with the full crew represented by action figures in a really cool Next-Gen Enterprise that lights up. My favorite items at any market/garage/tag sale, are Akron-oriented items. Goodyear tire ashtrays are great for keeping your lose change on your dresser. Stan Hywet once sold some really fun beer steins, which I believe I found a few of stashed in an aisle of glassware.

Although it’s a little difficult to find, there are stairs to a basement full of more goods. I said a little prayer before I put my first foot on the steps. I’m pretty sure they’re almost a century old and don’t look like they can take too many more husky gentlemen such as myself.

The lower level has a variety of knickknacks and several boxes of LPs with some local recordings, including a live Rex Humbard Family Singers record. My favorite corner has a shelf full of antique beer cans that are worth a few minutes of perusing.

I’m not sure what the phone number is but the posted hours are Monday-Saturday 10:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Sunday Noon to 6 p.m.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Warning, may contain real fleas . . .”

  1. John M Says:

    I went to the north hill flee market on January 10th, 2010. I find a few items now and then. Today the man running the place, he has a computer booth near the fornt door. I was with my wife and he starting complaining about the President and how he hated all muslems and democrats. After about ten minutes of this i went to him and told him he was a stupid a– and he should shut up. He showed his Gun and threatened to shoot me, I told him your a typical republican, run you big mouth then hide behind a gun.. so beware of this ass–le . i am a good tax paying citizen and have worked all my life, i have never ever experienced this before.. so Beware.. he hates all muslims and democrats..

    • nikki forsyth Says:

      That computer place was MORRIS TECHNOLOGIES. He just moved to a different location. Same bad business, same bad attitude.

Leave a Reply

