Akron Book Tour (the final chapter . . . for now), Part Three-The Bookseller

The Bookseller
39 Westgate Circle
Akron, OH 44313
330 865-5831
www.thebooksellerinc.com

Sorry for not posting for a long time. My digital camera was out of the country for a few weeks.

I’ve saved the best for last. Bookseller is just behind a popular strip on West Market Street in the Wallhaven district, but it’s easy to miss. For the first seven or eight years I lived here I had no idea it existed until I picked up a friend at an apartment across the street. Bookseller specializes in antique books, posters, maps, Akron collectibles, and first editions, with a healthy dose of trade paperbacks to boot.

When you first arrive take a gander at the leather-bound classics and reference books on your right. The hardwood shelves are brimming with art reference, literary texts, and some pop. I picked up a first edition of Kurt Vonnegut’s Dead Eye Dick for just $12.75.

There are plenty of other treasures to be found for nerds like me. There’s a small selection of movie posters from the past fifty years piled in a corner and lining the walls, including an original Woody Allen Bananas (1971) 41 x 27 full sheet. If you’re a manga fan there’s a section for you as well.

Aside from the posters and maps, my favorite is the selection of Akron history books. Many concentrate on the city’s metropolitan history, while others touch upon the agricultural side. I like learning as much as I can about my hometown, so this a good place to stop for research after the Summit County Library archives.

Browse, find something fun, and be sure to pet the chubby Pug on your way out. He’s really old.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Akron Book Tour (the final chapter . . . for now), Part Three-The Bookseller”

  1. Dominic Says:

    Thanks for writing about these places! I’m especially looking forward to checking out places like The Bookseller that sell used books. Growing up in Youngstown, we had a great used book store (Twice-Loved Books). They had a great collection. Often with a lot of Beat and avant-garde stuff, which was right up my alley. Also a lot of film and tv books. I never realized how lucky I was until they closed (about 6 years ago). So many weird and awesome things–I wish I had spent 10x as much time there and 10x as much dough!

Leave a Reply

