The Lamp Post

The Lamp Post
2081 E Market St.
(330) 733-5308

As you can tell from previous posts, I’m a fan of food challenges. When I drove past the super-hip greasy spoon the Lamp Post a few weeks ago I couldn’t help but notice the challenge painted on their window: The He-Man Breakfast. This is a true heart-clogger only those with stomachs of steel and bowels of brass can take on: three eggs (any way you like ’em), two meats (patties, links, or bacon), pancakes or French toast, two massive servings of hash browns, two slices of toast (white or wheat), and the required biscuits and sausage gravy, all served on a gigantic pizza platter.

The first time I visited the restaurant there was a gentleman who brought in two fish he had caught in Lake Erie. While the cook sliced, diced, and fried them up he told us he had two He-Mans in the same night. I don’t know if he was joking, but I wouldn’t try it myself. Just take a look at the photo and let me know what you think.

The Lamp Post is currently (as of this posting) open 24/7. When the bars close at 2:30 a.m. it’s supposedly packed with a crowd ready to either fight or pass out. Even when you visit during daytime hours expect to sit next to both the upper crust and the hoi palloi. There’s no question you’ll be referred to as “Honey” by the gracious wait staff.
Enjoy.

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to “The Lamp Post”

  1. elecpencil Says:

    I live in the Youngstown/Warren area and like your blog as I love the Akron area. See my blog here: http://elecpencil.wordpress.com/

  2. Jeff Says:

    As someone who spend a few post-bar nights at the Lamp Post in the 70’s and as a transplanted Akronite in New York, I appreciate this review (and all your blog posts!). Now I know where to look for things to do when I visit the Rubber City.

    Thanks!

  3. Meghan Says:

    Months later, but I wanted to thank you for this post. We’ve hit The Lamp Post a few times since you mentioned it, and we never would’ve found it otherwise. They do a damn fine country fried steak, too!

  4. Mike Says:

    Glad to see the Post is open again!

  5. bob Says:

    be sure to not sit in your car to long after eating at the lamp post. Big place for shooting heroin. Cops pulled us over on canton road because they suspected we were shooting heroin. Apparently they have a huge problem with it.

  6. LamppostFan Says:

    The post is me and my room mates favorite 3am diner! It has the best food even though the crowd is crack heads, bikers, cops, and molestors. The wait staff is the best around! Love love love this place!

Leave a Reply

